Akinwunmi Retains LSFA Chairmanship Seat.

 Akinwunmi Retains LSFA Chairmanship Seat.

The incumbent Chairman of the Lagos State Football Association, Seyi Akinwunmi, on Monday retained his seat amid a dramatic tight electoral contest that took place in Lagos.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the election was held at the Morning Side Suites, Taslim Elias Close, Lagos Island.

The keenly-contested LSFA chairmanship election between Akinwunmi and football administrator and proprietor of 36 Lions FC, Liameed Gafar, did not produce a winner in the first poll.

The election had to be stretched to a re-run as the first winner Akinwunmi, who polled eight votes against Gafar, did not satisfy the requirement of a two-third majority of votes cast.

However, the re-run was able to produce a clear winner as Akinwunmi produced nine votes to defeat Jamar, thus retaining his seat as the LSFA boss.

For the membership of the LSFA board, Mojeed Adedingbin defeated the incumbent, Wale Joseph, with eight votes against five for Joseph.

Also, for the LSFA women seat, Oluwayemisi Cole had 11 votes to defeat other two aspirants Raliat Abdul-Salam, who had two votes and Oluwakemi Popoola, who failed to secure a single vote.

The composition of the board of the LSFA, however, has Ajasa Oyekan and Moses Adebanjo unopposed and Adedigbin and Cole as five-board members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.