Buhari, Gbajabiamila, Tinubu, others hail Osinbajo at 64.

 Buhari, Gbajabiamila, Tinubu, others hail Osinbajo at 64.

The Presidency yesterday led dignitaries and organisations to celebrate women on the occasion of this year’s International Women’s Day.

President Muhammadu Buhari, in a statement, said this year’s edition of the International Women’s has provided it the opportunity to honour the Nigerian woman.

The International Women’s Day, which is celebrated on March 8 of every year, is a globally observed to celebrate the social, economic, cultural and political achievement of women.

This year’s edition has been themed “Choose to Challenge”.

In the statement by Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, the Presidency reeled out a list of some of the women who have been working with President Buhari in his administration, tagged ‘the Buhari Women’.

The statement published the names and positions of 32 such appointees, which, it said, are just a few of them.

According to the statement, the ‘Buhari Women’ projects to the world how the President had been honouring the womenfolk.

The statement reads: “Here is a checklist of ‘The Buhari Women,’ just few of them: Zainab Ahmed, Honourable Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning; Sadiya Umar Farouq, Honourable Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development; Pauline Tallen, Honourable Minister of Women Affairs; Mariam Yalwaji Katagum, Honourable Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment, and Sharon Ikeazor, Honourable Minister of State for Environment.

“On the list too are Gbemisola Saraki, Honourable Minister of State for Transportation; Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu, Honourable Minister of State for the Federal Capital Territory (FCT); Folashade Yemi-Esan, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Mariam Uwais, Special Adviser to the President; Jumoke Oduwole, Special Adviser to the President on Industry, Trade and Investment, and Secretary of the Presidential Enabling Business Environment Council (PEBEC) and Mojisola Adeyeye, Director-General, National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC).

“Others are Hadiza Bala-Usman, Managing Director, Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA); Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Chairperson and CEO, Nigerians in Diaspora Commission; Chioma Ejikeme, Executive Secretary, Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD); Patience Oniha, Director-General, Debt Management Office (DMO); Aisha Dahir-Umar, Director-General, National Pension Commission; Jummai A.M. Audi, Chairperson, Nigerian Law Reform Commission (NLRC); Yewande Sadiku, Executive Secretary, Nigerian Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC); Gloria Akobundu, National Coordinator/Chief Executive of New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), Nigeria; Nnenna Akajemeli, National Coordinator/CEO, SERVICOM and Folashade Joseph, Managing Director, Nigeria Agriculture Insurance Corporation (NAIC).

“Also on the lists are Cecilia Gaya, Director-General, Administrative Staff College of Nigeria (ASCON), Ronke Sokefun, Chairperson, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC); Aishah Ahmad, Deputy Governor, Financial System Stability, Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); and Stella Ojekwe-Onyejeli, Executive Director/Chief Operating Officer, Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA).

“The rest are Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the President on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Oge Modie, Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the President on Strategic Communications; Toyin Adeniji, Executive Director, Micro Enterprises, Bank of Industry (Oversees the Government Enterprise and Empowerment Programme, GEEP); Stella Okotete, Executive Director, Business Development, NEXIM Bank; Omolola Abiola-Edewor, Executive Director, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC); Imaan Sulaiman–Ibrahim, Director-General, National Agency for Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons (NAPTIP) and Lauretta Onochie, Personal Assistant to the President on Social Media, and INEC Federal Commissioner-nominee.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.