FG Inaugurates Panel For Secondary Education Commission.

 FG Inaugurates Panel For Secondary Education Commission.

The Federal Government on Thursday inaugurated a 15-man committee for the take-off of the National Commission for Secondary Education.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Mr Sonny Echono, while setting up the committee in Abuja, charged the members to work out modalities for the smooth take-off of the commission.

The law establishing the commission was signed in 1999 but was never implemented.

Echono noted that the commission would have a trim but an efficient workforce.

According to him, the law setting up the 20-year-old commission must be reviewed by the committee.

“President Muhammadu Buhari approved the secondary education commission to fill the identified gap because we have TETFund for tertiary education and UBEC for the basic education.

”The secondary school education was seen as an orphan but this commission will help fill the gap. The primary function of this commission is to set standards and ensure education meet the needs of our country as well as global competitiveness.”

The Permanent Secretary of the ministry serves as the chairman of the committee, while other members include Dr Lami Amidu, Director, Basic Education; Mrs E.O. Adedigba, Director, Technical and Science Education; Mr C.O. Ogbede, Director, Education, Planning, Research and Development.

Others are Mr Anwalu Kolo, Director, Human Resources; Mrs O.O. Ajibade, Director, Legal Services; and staff from agencies under the ministry.

Ayomide Oyewole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.