The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is to conduct re-run election in 1, 988 polling units in 14 local government areas of Kogi State on February 20th.

The Kogi State Resident Electoral Commission (REC), Mallam Haliru Pai disclosed this on Thursday during a stakeholders meeting.

According to him, the re-run election as ordered by the state election petition tribunal will hold in two senatorial districts of the state, Kogi Central and Kogi East.

He further disclosed that All Progressives Congress (APC) will not be participating in the Kogi Central and Kogi East senatorial election following the court ruling which barred the two candidates and the APC from contesting.

He said that the APC will not participate in federal constituency election into Ogoro/Okene federal constituency as a result of court ruling, adding that only the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) is eligible for the re-run election.

On the Kogi State House of Assembly re-run, the REC said the APC and its candidates will not participate in the Ofu and Ankpa 1 re-run, but that the party will participate in Idah, Dekina/Biraidu and Okura re-run.

He stressed that in Idah, re-run will only take place in one unit, Ogegele ward, unit 003.

He said about 9,816 ad-hoc staff including youth corpers, security officers and other personnel will be participating in the re-run election.

He assured the people of the state of a free and fair re-run election, stressing that the reason why re-run election will take place in the 14 local government areas of the state was as a result of non conduct of primary by one of the parties, “which led to litigation.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.