Lagos Assembly Minority Leader, Five Other Lawmakers Dump PDP for APC

 Lagos Assembly Minority Leader, Five Other Lawmakers Dump PDP for APC

After several denials six of the eight Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members of the Lagos State House of Assembly on Thursday formally dumped the PDP, the party under which they contested and won election into the House. Thursday’s defection of the PDP lawmakers into the APC, led by the Minority Leader of the House, Akeem Bello finally put paid to the lingering rumour of the six Decampees.
In a letter titled; “Letter of defection from the PDP to APC” and dated Thursday 16th , February, 2017 and addressed to the Speaker and jointly signed by five of the six defectors announcing their defection from the PDP to the ruling APC was read on the floor of the chamber by the Clerk of the House, Mr Azeez Sanni.
The Decampees sighted what they refer to as irreconcilable differences and fictionalisation of the PDP, excellent performances of the state governor, Akinwumi Ambode as well as the leadership quality and style of the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa as major reasons for their action.

The five lawmakers who jointly signed the letter are; the Minority Whip, Hon. Mosunmola Sangodara representing Surulere constituency 02, Hon. Olusola Shokunle representing Oshodi Isolo 01, Hon. Jude Idimogu, Oshodi/Isolo 02. Hon. Dayo Famakinwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun 02 and Hon. Oluwa Fatai Ajeromi/Ifelodun 01. Announcing his defection on the floor of the House, Hon. Famakinwa said: “My reason to jettison the PDP was borne out of the monumental achievements of Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of the state.”
His counterpart from constituency 01 of Ajeromi/Ifelodun, Oluwa Fatai said: “My reason for joining APC is due to the fracas between Senator Ali-Modu Sheriff faction and Alhaji Ahmed Makarfi faction of the PDP. “I admire the leadership style of the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa and Governor Ambode.” Idimogu Jude, the only non-yoruba member in the House representing Oshodi/Isolo 02 said “I appreciate the kind of relationship that we have here.
I must confess that I am in love with Governor Ambode. The governor has been kind to me and my constituents despite the fact that I was formally in the opposition. “APC is better. I don’t know how to appreciate him (Ambode) than to join his party to move the state forward.”
Another defector representing Oshodi/Isolo 01, Hon. Olusola Shokunle said his decision to align with the ruling party was borne out of the desire to move the state, especially his constituency forward. The Minority Whip and the only female member among the defectors, Hon. Sangodara Mosunmola said she took the step so as to serve her constituents better, saying “we are all aware of what is happening in PDP.” Welcoming the defectors into the APC fold, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Obasa said: “For the fact that these people have joined us, let us welcome the defectors.
There is a pleasure in dumping PDP.” Other lawmakers however, exchanged pleasantries and took turn to welcome the defectors into the APC. The Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Sanai Agunbiade in his welcome speech said “No reasonable man will continue to live in a house that has given signs of collapse.
The defection is a welcome development. “As the Majority of Leader of the House, I welcome you. This has increased the strength of the ruling party and deflated the strength of minority.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.