LASG Inaugurates School-based Management Committee.

The Tutor-General/Permanent Secretary (TG/PS), Education District VI, Mrs. Oludara Okelola, has inaugurated the Chairpersons of School-Based Management Committees for Public Secondary Schools under the district.

Speaking at the inauguration ceremony held at the Head Office of the Education District in Oshodi, Okelola said the School-Based Management Committee is made up of volunteers and people of integrity, who are ready to make sacrifices to improve the school situation in support of government efforts.

She stated further that it is a platform for parents, staff, and students to get together for the common purpose of improving the quality of education outcomes in Public Senior and Junior Secondary Schools.

The TG/PS averred that the objective of the SBMC is to identify the problems of the school and proffer solutions to them, stressing that the SBMC will ensure that learners/children rights are protected both in and out of schools and also regulate truancy/loitering among students on the streets.

“The School-Based Management Committee is a major stakeholder in education. It supports the effort of the State Government on the provision of quality education, through the active participation and cooperation of parents in the activities of public schools in Lagos”, she said.

Mrs. Okelola swore in Mr. Azeez Wahab, Barrister Oluwafunmilayo David and Alhaji Shittu as SBMC Chairpersons for Ikeja, Mushin, and Oshodi-Isolo zones of the education district respectively.

Ayomide Oyewole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.