Nasarawa United Topple MFM for Plateau

 Nasarawa United Topple MFM for Plateau

Leaders MFM Football Club of Lagos were soundly beaten 0-4 by Nasarawa United on Sunday in Match Day 17 fixtures.

The Odukoya boys not only lost the game, but they also lost the leadership of the 2016/2017 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) to Plateau United, slumping to the third position behind El-Kanemi Warriors.

Adamu Hassan headed in a Yinka Onaolapo cross in the opening minute to give hosts Nasarawa United FC of Lafia a dream start against the league leaders.

Onaolapo extended their lead in the 61st minute, while substitute Anthonin Oussou and Abdulrahman Bashir added the third and fourth goals in the 83rd and 86th minutes.

It was a loss which profited former leaders Plateau United, who beat visiting Wikki Tourists of Bauchi 1-0 after a Reuben Bala 57th minute penalty kick in Jos.

El-Kanemi Warriors are now second-placed, after leapfrogging MFM, who have now dropped to third, following a 1-0 defeat of visiting Kano Pillars in Maiduguri.

Matthias Samuel’s 53rd minute goal took the Desert Warriors to 30 points, and they are ahead of MFM on goals difference.

Former champions Enyimba International rallied from behind to beat visiting Rangers International in Calabar, winning 2-1 to move up to 10th on the standings.

Daniel Etor’s 7th minute goal stunned the hosts, but they fought back with two second half goals to nick the important win.

Substitute Chukwude drew Enyimba level in the 55th minute, while Mfom Udoh got the winning goal in the 88th minute.

Niger Tornadoes moved into fourth place with a 2-1 defeat of Lobi Stars in Lokoja, controlling the match for most parts.

Ibrahim Babawo gave the hosts a comfortable afternoon with goals in the 8th and 66th minutes, while Luther Iyorhe pulled one back for the visitors in the 88th minute.

The biggest scoreline of the day was in Uyo where Alhassan Ibrahim’s hat-trick (28th, 36th and 44th) and Friday Ubong’s 11th minute gave hosts Akwa United a 4-0 lead at half-time.

But the Shooting Stars rallied back in the second half with goals from Moses James (58th minute) and Taiwo Shittu (90th minute) for a 2-4 loss.

Gombe United were 1-0 winners over Rivers United, after a 26th minute goal by Idris Bakare who was sent off in the 88th minute for a second bookable offence.

Remo Stars scored late, through substitute Dufegha Eric in the 89th minute, for a 1-0 win over visiting Katsina United in Sagamu.

Abia Warriors were 2-0 winners over visiting ABS FC of Ilorin in Umuahia, courtesy of goals from Sunday Adetunji (80th minute and 86th minute penalty kick).

FC IfeanyiUbah were lucky in Nnewi with a 2-1 win over visiting Sunshine Stars of Akure who took the lead through Joseph Abbey’s 64th minute strike.

After Prince Aggreh missed a 56th minute penalty kick, Godwin Obaje did not miss from the same spot 21 minutes later for the equaliser, while Seka scored the winner in the 90th minute.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.