NBA nominates Agbakoba, 8 others for Supreme Court posts

 NBA nominates Agbakoba, 8 others for Supreme Court posts

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), has forwarded names of nine eligible candidates to the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria and Chairman, Judicial Service Commission, Justice Walter Onnoghen, for appointment as justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.
The short-listing followed a rigorous process of selection done by a select committee chaired by the president of the Nigerian Bar Association, Abubakar Mahmoud, with eight other eminent lawyers as members.
Among candidates nominated for selection by the NJC was former President of the NBA, Chief Olisa Agbakoba (SAN).
Others are Anthony Ikemefuna Idigbe (SAN), Yunus Ustas Usman (SAN), Babatunde Fagbohunlu (SAN), Miannayaaja Essien (SAN), Awa Uma Kalu (SAN), Professor Awalu Hamish Yadudu, Tajudeen Oladoja and Ayuba Giwa.
The above-mentioned applicants were shortlisted from a total of 89 expressions of interest that were scrutinised.
Recall that the Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, Walter Onnoghen, had earlier forwarded a request to the president of NBA, Abubakar Mahmoud, SAN “to nominate a suitable candidate for consideration as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.