Osinbajo Approves New Appointments In Federal Agencies

 Osinbajo Approves New Appointments In Federal Agencies

• Commissions N10b rice mill in Kebbi
• Meets Ghanaian president

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has approved new appointments into the boards of some Federal Government agencies.In the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission, Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye was appointed as chairman while Dr. Grace N. Chinda, Okolo Titus,Obiora Igwedebia, Mrs. Olubukola Balogun, Group Captain Sam Ewang (rtd.), Justice Adamu Bello, Hannatu Mohammed and Abdullahi Maikano Saidu would serve as members.

Others appointed as members of the board are Dr. Sa’ad Alanamu, Yahaya Umar Dauda, Khamis Ahmed Mailantarki and Maimuna Aliyu. Prof. Musa Usman Abubakar is the secretary.

According to a statement by the Director (Press), Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Bolaji Adebiyi, “the appointment of the chairman is for five years, while the tenure for all the members is four years. Also, these appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.”
In the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission, Ekpo Nta, Alhaji Dauda Yahaya and Garba Musa Gulma were appointed as full-time commissioners.Those appointed as part-time commissioners are Victoria Nnenna Chukwuani, Mr. Geoffery Yeilong,Prof. Ropo Shekoni and Ahmed Mahmud Gumel. The permanent secretary,
(Estab.), Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF); permanent secretary, Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity; Comrade Isa Aremu of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and Mr. Chuma Nwankwo of Nigeria Employers Consultative Association (NECA) would serve as members.

“The new appointments are for a period of five years. The Chairman of the Commission is High Chief Richard Egbule, while Mr. E. A. Thompson is the Secretary. Both were appointed in August 2014,” the statement read.

For the Investment and Security Tribunal, Siaka Isaiah Idoko was appointed as chairman and chief executive officer while Jude I. Udunni, Mr. Nosa Osemwengie, Abubakar A. Ahmad and Albert L. Otesile were appointed as full-time members. Those to serve as part-time members are Emeka Madubuike, Kasumi Garba Kurfi, Edward O. Ajayi, Onyemaechi E, M. Elujekor and Mamman Bukar Zargana.

Mr. Chidi K. C. Izuwah was appointed as Director-General of the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission, subject to Senate confirmation.In another development, the acting president, with powers conferred on the President by the Recovery of Public Property (Special Provisions) Act Cap R4, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004, has approved the setting up of a special presidential investigation panel for the recovery of public property. The Chairman of the panel is Chief Okoi Obona-Obla, Special Assistant to the President on Prosecution, while Mr. Akingbolahan Adeniran is the secretary.

Also yesterday, Osinbajo commissioned a N10 billion rice mill owned by West African Cotton Company (WACOT) in Argungu, Kebbi State.The mill is located on the Argungu-Sokoto road, about 55km from Birnin Kebbi and 90 kilometres from Sokoto in Arugungu Local council.
The Acting President said the multi national company had earlier promised to complement the President Buhari’s administration in its agricultural transformation agenda while it urge other investors to emulate the same gesture from the WACOT to make food available in the country.

He further said Buhari’s administration has more passion in diversifying Nigeria’s economy.“Very soon Nigeria would stop the importation of Rice.”Responding, GMD of the WACOT. Rahul Savara said the N10 billion modern rice processing mill has the capacity of producing 400 metric tonnes of parboiled rice and that subsequently it would increase production to 1200 tones daily.

He disclosed that the rice mill has so far employed one thousand workers.Also, the President of Ghana, Nana Akufor-Addo yesterday met briefly with the acting president at the presidential villa, Abuja behind closed doors for just about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.