Rohr drops Iheanacho, Ajayi, names 20 debutants for AFCON

 Rohr drops Iheanacho, Ajayi, names 20 debutants for AFCON

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr on Sunday dropped Kelechi Iheanacho and Semi Ajayi from his final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Rohr also named 20 debutants in his squad for the tournament, which holds from June 21 to July 19 in Egypt, according to a tweet from the official handle of the Nigerian Football Federation on Sunday.

The German tactician, Rohr, named three goalkeepers, seven defenders, four midfielders, and nine strikers in his final squad for the tournament.

Captain Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa, and Kenneth Omeruo are the only players from the 2013 AFCON-winning squad in South Africa included in the final squad.

Other players included in the squad are William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Paul Onuachu, Samuel Chukwueze and Ola Aina.

The three-time African champions will playTeranga Lions of Senegal in their final friendly on June 16 in Ismaili.

Nigeria battle Burundi, Madagascar, and Guinea in Group B of the competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.