Senate begins screening of ministerial nominees

 Senate begins screening of ministerial nominees

nigeria-assemblyThe Senate has commenced screening of ministerial nominees.Only 10 nominees were screened today by the Senate.

They are: Udoma Udoh Udoma, Kayode Fayemi, Audu Ogbeh, Ogbonaya Onu, Osaghie Ehanire, Abdulrahman Dambazzau.

Others are Lai Mohammed, Amina Mohammed, Suleiman Adams, Ibrahim Jibril.

Others are to be screened on Wednesday and Thursday.

First to be called before the lawmakers was a former lawmaker himself, Udoma Udoh Udoma, who represented Akwa-Ibom South constituency from 1999 to 2007 in the upper legislative chamber.

After answering a few questions on investment, the former senator was asked to ‘take a bow and go’.

The former governor of Ekiti State, Mr John Olukayode Fayemi, who served as governor from 2010 to 2014, was called next to defend his nomination.

A few questions ranging from the role he played in operating an ‘illegal radio station’ during the military regime and alleged sinking of Ekiti State into huge debts during his time as governor of the south western state were asked.

Questions about security, internal revenue generation and policies during his time as governor were also raised.

After answering the questions extensively, the former governor was asked to ‘take a bow and go’.

After the former governor left, the former Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party and Benue State nominee, Chief Audu Ogbeh was invited to face the screening exercise.

President Muhammadu Buhari, after four months of taking over power, sent a list of persons that will man ministries under his administration, to the Senate in two batches within the space of six days.

The first batch contained names of former governors, senators and technocrats. The Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki also unveiled the second batch of the President’s list of ministerial nominees.

Included in the first list are the spokesperson of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Lai Mohammed; former Rivers State governor, Rotimi Amaechi and his counterparts from Lagos and Ekiti States, Babatunde Fashola and Kayode Fayemi respectively.

The list also has Abubakar Malami (SAN); former defence chief, Abdurahman Dambazzau; former governorship candidate in Taraba State, Aisha Alhassan; Adebayo Shittu; former senator, Udoma Udo-Udoma and Ibrahim Jibril.

Others are Suleiman Adamu; former senator and one-time governor of Anambra State, Chris Nigige; Kemi Adeosun; former Deputy Governor of Niger State, Ahmed Ibeto; Hadi Sirika; ex-PDP National chairman, Audu Ogbeh.

The list also has ex-Abia governor, Ogbonnaya Onu; NNPC Group Managing Director, Ibeh Kachikwu; Amina Mohammed and Solomon Dalong.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.