Super League Clubs Agree £22m Settlement With Premier League

 Super League Clubs Agree £22m Settlement With Premier League

European Super League: ‘Big Six’ clubs to pay £22m settlement to Premier League over failed breakaway plot

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Man City, Man Utd and Spurs will pay a combined sum of £22m to the Premier League; ‘Big Six’ reach settlement over plan to join failed Super League in April; clubs will face heavy fines and points deductions if they sign up to similar plans in future

The six English clubs which secretly agreed to play in a European Super League (ESL) will pay a combined £22m to draw a line under their ensuing row with the Premier League.

The figure was announced in a joint statement by the Premier League and the Football Association on Wednesday afternoon.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham have also agreed to an additional £25m fine and a potential 30-point deduction for any similar transgression in the future.

“The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game,” the statement read.

“They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA.

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22m, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.