U.S. Democratic Senator Amy Klobuchar Enters 2020 Presidential Race

 U.S. Democratic Senator Amy Klobuchar Enters 2020 Presidential Race

WASHINGTON, Feb. 10 (Xinhua) — Senator Amy Klobuchar, a moderate Democrat, on Sunday announced her candidacy for President of the United States.

The senator for state of Minnesota, who easily won a third term last year, made the announcement during a speech in Minneapolis in a frigid and snowy day.

Klobuchar, 58, becomes the fifth U.S. senator and the fourth female member in the chamber announcing a bid for the presidency.

“Our nation must be governed not from chaos but from opportunity,” Klobuchar said. “Not by wallowing over what’s wrong, but by marching inexorably toward what’s right.”

She also used the speech to highlight her ability to work across the aisle with Republicans and her campaign priorities, including healthcare, an issue set to be heavily debated during her party’s nominating race.

Her support in fighting climate change drew rebuttal from President Donald Trump, who has frequently questioned the worrisome trend.

“Well, it happened again. Amy Klobuchar announced that she is running for President, talking proudly of fighting global warming while standing in a virtual blizzard of snow, ice and freezing temperatures,” Trump tweeted Saturday.

“Bad timing,” he added. “By the end of her speech she looked like a Snowman(woman)!”

Klobuchar, retweeting the president’s message, responded by saying: “Science is on my side.”

“Looking forward to debating you about climate change (and many other issues),” she wrote. “And I wonder how your hair would fare in blizzard?”

Klobuchar’s announcement came a day after Democratic Senator Elizabeth Warren said she’s formally running for the president.

The campaign of the Massachusetts Democrat, who’s on the party’s left flank, is focusing on economic equality, government accountability and reining in big corporations.

Warren and Klobuchar were joining a crowded, diverse field of Democrats vying to take on Trump, which also includes California Senator Kamala Harris, New Jersey Senator Cory Booker, New York Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, former San Antonio, Texas mayor Julian Castro, and Hawaii congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.